GSC Staff & Board

Global Scholars Canada (GSC) is incorporated under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act and is a registered charity. Its Board of Directors includes members from across Canada and the United States. The President of Global Scholars (USA) serves on the GSC Board while GSC’s Executive Director serves on the Global Scholars (USA) Board of Directors.


Dr. Peter Schuurman
Executive Director (part-time)
Guelph, ON
Telephone: 1-519-822-7177 (cell)

Harley B. Dekker CPA, CMA
Financial Administrator (part-time)
Toronto, ON

Anna Sklar, BA
Program Administrator (part-time)
Guelph, ON

Board of Directors

Justin Cooper (Chair)
Christian Higher Education Canada
Dundas, ON

Mary Leigh Morbey (Secretary)
York University (retired)
Toronto, ON

Carla Nelson
Tyndale University College and Seminary (retired)
Calgary, AB

Harry Fernhout (Vice Chair and Treasurer)
The King’s University (retired)
Former GSC Executive Director (2014 – 2017)
Toronto, ON

Deborah Bowen
Redeemer University (retired)
Toronto, ON

Stan Wallace
Global Scholars
Overland Park, KS
Partner Representative Ex Officio

GSC works closely with Global Scholars (USA). Dr. Stan Wallace is the President of Global Scholars (USA). For more information about the Global Scholars leadership team, go to